Day Thirteen: My first…

My first…

Pet was a dog named Black Jack.  I was 4 and I called him BJ – he was a beautiful toy poodle, coal black.  I remember being so excited because every dog I’d been around was bigger than me and I didn’t know they ‘made doggies my size.’  He followed me everywhere and I loved to watch him run and roll around in the yard; he looked like one of my stuffed animals come to life.

Unfortunately, a mama owl mistook him for a big rat (I guess?), and she snatched him from our yard one evening while we were playing.  My father tracked her, but the dog didn’t make it.  I’ve never had a dog that small again…or felt comfortable looking at an owl.  Nature is a crazy thing.

Leave a Reply

