Treasures

When I was a child, my treasures were stuffed animals and rocks.  Then it was telephones (foreshadowing my future career?), keyrings, stamps, and shells.  Today I still collect postcards and letters, but I’d have to say that over the years my possessions have come to mean less and less to me.

I remember a couple of years ago, everyone was photographing and posting the things they would grab in a fire, and for the life of me, I couldn’t think of anything I would grab except my dogs and wallet.  Sure, it would be inconvenient to have to replace certain things, and others are irreplaceable, but when it comes down to it, are my dogs alive and well?  Are my brother and sister still around to love/annoy me?  Then new memories can be created, and the rest of it is just stuff.

However, in the spirit of August Break, two of my ‘treasures’:

Nesting doll handed down from my great great grandmother.  I used to beg my Nana to open her up so I could see ‘all the little girls,’ and I actually cried when one of the pieces cracked.

005

Claddagh.  I’ve worn this every day since I turned 21 – it was a very special gift.

009

What are your special treasures?

 

Leave a Reply

